|Campus and Shop History
The Outfitters store shop was originally built as the Long Creek two-room school house in
the early 1910's. In 1935 the building was moved back to it's present location.
During the 1950-60’s the historical school house was used as a residence. In 1970
Wildwater Limited rafting company started operations in the building and had communal
In 1979 Bruce Hare started the Chattooga Whitewater Shop with money borrowed from his
father. As the original whitewater shop in the area, paddlers throughout the US and world
came to know the Chattooga Whitewater Shop was known to many as “Bruce's Shop”.
Bruce eventually built a second building on the premises as a restaurant which he
eventually used as his residence.
In May 2003, after 22 years in business, the shop was purchased by two paddling buddies
Mike and Ryan. Since then the partners have spent time and effort renovating the shop
and reviving the business.
During the summer of 2004 the two partners decided to open a restaurant for hungry
paddlers and converted to the adjoining building into Humble Pie pizza.
Today as a successfully revived business, Chattooga Whitewater and Humble Pie remains
the heart and soul of the Chattooga River and Long Creek, SC. Paddlers, fishermen,
outdoors enthusiasts and local community all gather to experience what Chattooga
Whitewater and Humble Pie has to offer.
Chattooga Whitewater Outfitters
14239 Hwy 76 (Long Creek Hwy)
Long Creek, SC 29658
Phone: 864 647 9083